Living Donation


International Living Donation Storytelling Project 

Canadian Blood Services has partnered with Dr. Amy Waterman and her team at the Transplant Research and Education Centre (TREC) to provide Canadians the opportunity to participate in The Living Donation Storytelling Project. megaphone

The Living Donation Storytelling Project is a one-of-a-kind digital library of video stories, recorded by real people, sharing their living donor kidney transplant experiences. 

Everyone’s experience is different, and you may find sharing your story can be an empowering experience and an inspirational resource for others. By telling your story, you will help raise awareness about the importance of living donation, inspire and educate, provide valuable information for those learning about living donation and transplant, and join a large community of storytellers looking to make a difference. This is your story to tell. 

Get involved

Tips and tricks to help you tell your story

Canadian stories 

Canadian storytellers’ videos will become part of the international storytelling library and be an essential support for potential living donors here in Canada as part of Canadian Blood Services’ developing educational resource platform. Listen to our first Canadian storytellers. Hear what they have to say about their experience as living kidney donors or recipients. 

Want to learn more about living donation in Canada? 

Those interested in becoming a living donor in Canada can connect to their local donation or transplant program and find more information about living donation and the kidney paired donation program here.  

Need help?

For more information or support in telling your story, contact the living donation team at Canadian Blood Services: kpd@blood.ca  

Background: Living Donation Storytelling Project

Canadian Blood Services partnered with Dr. Amy Waterman and her team at the Transplant Research and Education Centre (TREC) to provide Canadians the opportunity to participate in The Living Donation Storytelling Project  

Dr. Waterman and her team at TREC began collecting stories from living kidney donors, living kidney donor transplant recipients, family and friends of recipients, and people in need of a living kidney donor in the summer of 2018, using an innovative storyteller capturing platform. 

The digital library technology empowers participants to record their story anywhere, anytime, on any smartphone, tablet, or laptop. Participants receive an email invitation with a link to record a video story. Open-ended prompts guide Storytellers to topics of discussion and ensures the educational value of their narrative. Upon conclusion, the video segments automatically stitch together into one seamless story. 

The digital storytelling platform has already collected hundreds of stories from living donors, recipients, allies, including those exploring the idea of donation, and some looking for a living donor. Storytellers come from diverse backgrounds, geographic regions, age, and life experience. By sharing their candid personal stories, they each help to raise awareness about the need for living donors to help improve the outlook for those waiting for transplant.

Don d’organes de son vivant


Projet Living Donation Storytelling megaphone

[Carnet international de témoignages liés au don vivant]

 

La Société canadienne du sang s’est associée avec Amy Waterman et son équipe du Transplant Research and Education Centre (TREC) pour offrir aux Canadiens la possibilité de participer au projet The Living Donation Storytelling.

Cette initiative unique vise à créer une bibliothèque numérique recensant les témoignages enregistrés par de véritables personnes à propos de leur expérience du don de rein vivant.

Chaque histoire est différente, et il se peut que le fait de la relater soit pour vous une expérience enrichissante et une source d’inspiration pour les autres. Par votre témoignage, vous jouez un rôle aux multiples facettes : accroître la sensibilisation au don vivant, inspirer, informer, fournir une information précieuse aux personnes souhaitant en apprendre plus sur le don vivant et la transplantation. Enfin, vous vous joignez à une vaste communauté de témoins désireux de faire avancer la cause. Cette histoire, c’est à vous de la raconter.

Comment participer

Trucs et conseils pour vous aider à raconter votre histoire

Histoires du Canada

Les vidéos produites par des Canadiens viendront enrichir une bibliothèque internationale de témoignages et deviendront un outil de soutien inestimable pour les donneurs vivants ici, au Canada, puisqu’elles se retrouveront sur la plateforme de formation que la Société canadienne du sang est en train d’élaborer. 

 

 

Vous souhaitez en apprendre plus sur le don vivant au Canada? 

Les Canadiens désireux de faire un don d’organes de leur vivant peuvent communiquer avec le programme de don ou de transplantation de leur région et obtenir plus d’information sur le don vivant de rein et le Programme de don croisé de rein.  

Besoin d’aide?

Pour obtenir plus d’information ou du soutien pour l’enregistrement de votre témoignage, communiquer avec l’équipe responsable du don d’organes provenant de personnes vivantes de la Société canadienne du sang : kpd@blood.ca

Parlons du projet Living Donation Storytelling

La Société canadienne du sang s’est associée avec Amy Waterman et son équipe du Transplant Research and Education Centre (TREC) pour offrir aux Canadiens la possibilité de participer au projet The Living Donation Storytelling.

Au cours de l’été 2018, Mme Waterman et son équipe du TREC ont commencé à recueillir des témoignages de donneurs de rein vivants, de receveurs d’un rein provenant d’un donneur vivant, de familles et d’amis de receveurs et de personnes en attente d’un donneur de rein vivant au moyen d’une plateforme novatrice d’enregistrement.

La technologie qui sous-tend la bibliothèque numérique permet aux participants d’enregistrer leur témoignage n’importe où, n’importe quand, au moyen de n’importe quel outil comme un téléphone intelligent, une tablette ou un ordinateur portable. Des messages-guides ouverts orientent les gens vers des sujets de conversation et assurent la portée éducative de leur témoignage. Après l’enregistrement, les segments vidéos seront automatiquement réunis pour former un récit continu.

La plateforme numérique de témoignages a déjà permis de recueillir des centaines d’histoires de donneurs vivants, de receveurs, d’alliés et de personnes explorant l’idée du don ou à la recherche d’un donneur vivant. Les gens qui témoignent ont un profil très diversifié pour ce qui est de leur milieu, de leur origine géographique, de leur âge ou de leur bagage de vie. En partageant leur histoire en toute simplicité, ils sensibilisent d’autres personnes au besoin de donneurs vivants pour améliorer la vie des patients en attente d’une transplantation.